Skip to content
January 24, 2012 / ecschroder

Un-Break My Heart

Happy deployments are all alike; but every unhappy deployment is unhappy in its own way. (That’s how it goes, right?) Way back in the day, once upon a time, I had a happy deployment. But now…

Issue #1

A little while ago, on the advice of a friend, I split settings.py into a global settings files (settings.py) and local settings file (settings_local.py). Global settings can live in the repo, while local settings stay at home. Pros: by splitting the files, I could keep certain settings–like SECRET_KEY–private. Cons: by splitting the files, I screwed up my deployment on DjangoZoom. Oops.

Issue #2

I think I need to revisit my static files set up. I’m still a little fuzzy on the details. When I try to deploy on DjangoZoom, the build fails on the ‘manage.py collectstatic –link –noinput’ command. Here’s a snippet of the error:

ErrorInsideEnvironment: Command [u'/cust/p00000624/bundle_p00000624_2012-01-24-16.10.36/thisbundle_build.py', 'collectstatic', '--link', '--noinput'] returned non-zero exit code 1.
...
OSError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/cust/p00000624/bundle_p00000624_2012-01-24-16.10.36/user-src/remake/media/common'

Next on the reading list:

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/4565935/django-staticfiles-app-help

https://docs.djangoproject.com/en/dev/howto/static-files/

Leave a Reply

